CASSCF Excited State Geometry Optimization - Error

Find answers or ask questions regarding Dalton calculations.
Please upload an output file showing the problem, if applicable.
(It is not necessary to upload input files, they can be found in the output file.)

renjith
First name(s): Renjith
Last name(s): B Nair
Affiliation: Texas A&M University

CASSCF Excited State Geometry Optimization - Error

Post by renjith » 19 Mar 2016, 17:11

Dear Dalton Users,

I am new to DALTON. I recently tried to optimize O2 molecule for the second excited state (symmetry = 1, spin multiplicity = 1) at the CASSCF level using 8 electrons in 10 orbitals. The input files (O2.dal and O2.mol) are attached herewith for more details.

However, the program ends with severe error which is stated as follows. (I attached the output file, O2.out, herewith).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
" --- CICHCK option 2, cannot proceed:
number of trial vectors of right symmetry is 1
which is less than current reference state no. 3

--- SEVERE ERROR, PROGRAM WILL BE ABORTED ---

Reason: --- CICHCK: too few trial CI vecs. of right symmetry "

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I kindly request you to please help me to figure out this issue. I searched throughout the topics in the forum and have not found a proper solution. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Thanks in advance,
Regards,
Renjith
Attachments
O2.out
Output file with the error message
(30.45 KiB) Downloaded 292 times
O2.mol
Molecule Specification
(195 Bytes) Downloaded 332 times
O2.dal
Dalton Input file. Second excited state geometry optimization at CASSCF (8,10). Two orbitals were interchanged. Overall spin multiplicity is 1.
(319 Bytes) Downloaded 357 times

taylor
First name(s): Peter
Middle name(s): Robert
Last name(s): Taylor
Affiliation: Tianjin University

Re: CASSCF Excited State Geometry Optimization - Error