Novice user, trying to optimise + analyse structure.

Find answers or ask questions regarding Dalton calculations.
Please upload an output file showing the problem, if applicable.
(It is not necessary to upload input files, they can be found in the output file.)

pcxgj
First name(s): Joe
Last name(s): Jones
Affiliation: University of Nottingham

Novice user, trying to optimise + analyse structure.

Post by pcxgj » 12 Aug 2016, 16:45

Hello,

I'm a novice computational chemist looking to support their empirical data with some DFT and I have been pointed in the direction of Dalton as a tool that could help me. Previously I have been using the ADF program running on a single machine but I am looking at Dalton as an option since I have access to my university's HPC and while geometry optimisation of my structures has been reasonably ok on ADF (only a couple of days) trying to do things like calculate EPR values has been very expensive.

With the help of a friend I have built Dalton on the HPC with MPI and passed the tests and have started my first attempts on one of my structures which appears to be running but I would be interested if someone with more knowledge of this sort of thing could suggest any glaring errors I might have made, or have any useful tips for someone who is looking at the wealth of options and not really understanding what will save time vs what will work well but quadruple the computation time etc. I'm looking for a good balance between accuracy and computation time (aren't we all)?

The system is between 90 and 120 atoms, (Ni, Fe, N, C, S, H) and begins from an XRD structure as a 2+ ion (anions removed). My aim with the system is to reduce it in silico to +1 and look at the geometry change/IR/EPR that I have observed empirically when doing the same thing chemically/electrochemically.